> About

About the Niagara Power Coalition

The purpose of the Niagara Power Coalition (NPC) is to implement the June 27, 2005 Host Community Relicensing Settlement Agreement among NPC, its members, and the New York Power Authority (NYPA).

The Settlement Agreement provides for:

The allocation of a minimum of 25 megawatts of low-cost hydroelectric power and energy from NYPA’s Niagara Power Project to our community.

Establishment of a Host Communities Fund totaling at least $5 million per year.

Establishment of a separate Host Community Greenway Fund totaling $3 million annually.
These obligations are to continue over the 50-year term of the new license for the Niagara Power Project.

The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission approved the new license on March 15, 2007, and it took effect on September 1, 2007, upon the expiration of the original license.

NPC Staff

Lee Wallace, Supervisor
Vice President
Robert Restaino, Mayor
Jacqueline Siegmann
Mary P. Melloni

NPC Members

Niagara County
Rebecca Wydysh, Chairperson, N.C. Legislature
City of Niagara Falls
Robert Restaino, Mayor
Town of Niagara
Lee Wallace, Supervisor
Town of Lewiston
Steve Broderick, Supervisor
Niagara Falls School District
Mark Laurrie, Superintendent
Niagara Wheatfield School District
Daniel Ljiljanich, Superintendent
Lewiston-Porter School District
Paul Casseri, Superintendent

Latest News

This space will be used to highlight significant projects throughout the year. Please check back soon for the latest news & updates from NPC.


Meetings are held as needed. We will use this space to announce any upcoming special meetings.